3 Poems, 3 Days

Posted: August 16, 2011 in Uncategorized

Ram Dass Speaks

Ram Dass speaks?
That’s nothing new.
The 10th Rinpoche
Is coming through.

Kartran channels
A master race is due
Unsubscribe me please
Don’t you have a clue?

When you have all you want
None of this is new
Platitudes galore
Leave me unfulfilled

I found my peace
After 60 wonderful years
Probably just maturity
And better use of my ears

My life is filled with friends and love
All passions overflowing
Just sit and bask in what’s real
There’s no place to be going

When your girlfriends love each other
And tell you to find more
And everyone enjoys the herb
There’s needs fulfilled galore

So take this simple message
And fit it in your life
If all your needs aren’t being met
What will make that right?

I’ve discovered something
That really works for me
Loving all that’ll love me back
And it’s called Polyamory

Here’s a little coda
To this simple little tale
That fact that Word puts a squiggly red line
Under polyamory makes me wail.

Sliding through the wind

Sliding through the wind
Silver, shimmery, shiny
As if the car had tasted wax.
But alas, none had touched her metal for years.

Too much fun to drive, too much fun to live
The metal would not die, way too thick to give
Dirt, grunge, nothing dimmed her appeal
If your only viewpoint was behind the wheel

But life isn’t always seen from our eyes
Step out, walk away. You’ll have a surprise
What gives you such joy as it slips through the air
Looks disheveled, unloved whilst just sitting there

Any chance this is metaphorically about me?
Could I be sleek on the move, disheveled idle?
What little it matters as life is too grand
My biggest problem is a sleeve out of hand

Stop all this thinking and don’t write this poem
Just grab that new bong, smoke, sing a song
You know we’re all perfect just as we are
All this dissection is really a bore

If it keeps me from Family Guy, it can’t all be good
So get out that bong again, enjoy your brain food
What you have left in the end, is what you’ve made up
So make up a good one and fill life’s loving cup

Actually the poems were written with a 15 minute time limit as a little ‘contest’ with a friend of mine that was visiting.  The third poem just didn’t make the cut for publication.

Leave a Reply

